So, I’m trying to get an “adult job”. I’m tired of all the retail BS. I mean, it’s a job, but even if I was working 40 hours a week at walmart (which they wouldn’t allow, and I didn’t want anyways…I hated my life enough with the 30-something hours I got…) I wouldn’t have been able to afford an apartment once you add in things like utilities, and food, and such….like, that’s a studio with just me. I mean, if it got bumped up to a one bedroom, and boyfriend contributed….we’d still be kinda close to not being able to make it (because with boyfriend comes car insurance and gas and car maintenance…..). Nevermind trying to afford a car of my own (we’re lucky boyfriend and I got jobs so close, otherwise I’m not sure how well things would have worked…my short-lived job at the mall was hellish trying to figure out transportation, especially considering that the bus in this town can’t be depended on, and actually screwed me out of a job interview….) or anything like that…

So, I posted a mopey facebook post about wanting an undo button for life, because I was just so darn mopey about my situation. And a friend of mine checked in, because I’m not that prone to posting sad facebook messages (angry, I do very very well, because I’m good at ranting…but sad, I don’t do too often…). Friend has a good job. Friend can “refer” me to another job in said company that I am actually potentially qualified for. Sweet.

But then I look at my reusme….the poor thing has seen better days. And I want to make a good impression, since I reflect upon friend. So I decide to remake my resume with a new template and make everything spifferific….

And then I get to the objective section.

The objective section makes no freaking sense to me. The objective is, obviously, to find a job, or I suppose get experience for an internship.  But you can’t write “my objective is to be as obedient as a wage slave as I need to be for you to give me a paycheck.” Well, you can, but I doubt you’d get hired. (Don’t give me that crap about finding a job I love. I don’t know of any job that consists of sitting around in my PJ’s all day and watching anime, playing video games, and being on tumblr. And I don’t really have the motivation to write for a living, nor, I think, the skill, as much as I love it) Employers know that most of the time, it’s about getting a job. I feel like it’s a sadistic trick….”Let’s make them lie really really well if they want this job. Let’s see who gets the most flowery”

As much as I hate online retail job applications in general, I think they have the right idea. Fill in the blanks with your info. I mean, sure, many of them have the option to upload your resume as well, but… it’s not necessary, and often, won’t reflect poorly on you if you don’t, because THEY ALREADY HAVE ALL OF YOUR INFORMATION! RESUME IS SUPERFLUOUS AT THAT POINT!

But I want this job. Really bad. I’m not going to get into specifics, but it’s really cool. Commute may kinda suck for a bit, but I have plans for that too.

I’m also trying to kick caffeine. I’ve currently got a headache that kills that I’ve had since yesterday, and I’m irritable as all get out. And there are handymen (boyfriend’s parents are on a home improvement kick) and they’re banging and painting and monopolizing both bathrooms and I really need to use one of them. Bah. Bad day for this. Oh well. I’m probably cranky enough that Andrew is gonna force some soda into me anyways >_<.

But I should really stop procrastinating. I should go work on that. Wish me luck.

