Little Lanfear was a fighter. I first thought she was going to die back in November. She had a huge tumor, and she had somehow cut it, and her sister and mom had just died….but she made it.
She even gnawed off the tumor a few times, while I wasn’t looking! Not that I could really stop her…she tended to do whatever it was she wanted to do, and no amount of trying to scare her would stop her. She was a complete badass.
Hell, less than a week ago, she was still kicking the asses of anyone who stole her peanuts. You see, mice really like peanuts, so we would give them peanuts as a treat sometimes. But mice aren’t too perceptive, and would often fight over a single peanut when there were many other peanuts in the nearby areas, or, more often, one would just grab the peanut out of the other’s mouth and try to walk away with it. Some mousies would let it go, but not Lanfear. She’d chase after that mousie and grab that peanut right back, and there was nothing that would stop her from getting that peanut back!
Even at the end she was a fighter…. she seemed to like the dark better than the light, so we had her under this little hidie thing (they like to hide under them when they sleep). She was barely able to move. When I woke up this morning (I tried to sit vigil with her, but there was a chance I was going to need to drive this morning, so I couldn’t) she had managed to crawl out from under there. She wanted to leave in the open air.
She was buried in a heart-shaped box this morning next to her sister and her mom. The ground was cold, but we managed to get down deep enough.
Goodbye Lanfear. You were my sniffler, always sniffling around, investigating everything, leaving no tube unexplored. You brought unmeasurable amounts of happiness to me, and I will forever miss you. You will never be able to be replaced. I love you Lanfear. Enjoy the mousie afterlife! ❤ ❤
Excuse me while I go lose my shit in an attempt to be ready for work today. Because I sure as hell am not going to be able to get through it in my current state.

